Archived News Releases

Foundation Board of Directors Selects New Leaders

Directors of the Foothill-De Anza Foundation have elected four of their peers to leadership positions for the fiscal year that began July 1.

Newly elected President Kathleen Santora of Los Altos Hills said the foundation's theme this year is "Changing Lives, One Student at a Time."

"I'm excited to lead the foundation forward by supporting our colleges and making a real, tangible and positive impact on our students," Santora said. "As a 28-year resident of our community, I appreciate the significant impact that Foothill and De Anza colleges have had on our region. These colleges are community treasures!"

Incoming Vice President Don Aoki of Mountain View is senior vice president of professional services at Keynote Systems. Aoki joined the Foothill-De Anza Foundation board in 2012 and also serves on the board of CHAC, the Community Health Awareness Council.

New board secretary Lisa Elliott is a charter member of the 100 Charitable Women Foundation and brings a background in advertising, marketing and direct marketing to the board. The Los Altos resident joined the Foothill-De Anza Foundation board in 2012.

A foundation board member since 2008, Los Altos resident Martin Neiman was re-elected treasurer. The retired high-tech executive also serves on the board of Hidden Villa and on the advisory board of the Terraces at Los Altos.

Santora succeeds Saratoga resident Ben Dubin. As immediate past president, Dubin will continue to serve on the board's executive and finance committees for 2013-14. Now in his second term on the foundation's board, Dubin is an investment banker with Asset Management Ventures and has been a Silicon Valley software engineer, high-tech executive and start-up company founder.

"We're thrilled to have such an amazing and accomplished group of board members leading our foundation," said Sheryl Alexander, the foundation's executive director. "Their commitment and enthusiasm for our mission to change student lives is infectious and I know we will accomplish exceptional things through their leadership."

The nominating committee for the new officers included board members Sue Levy of Portola Valley, who chairs the governance committee, and past presidents Dianne McKenna of Sunnyvale and Anita Manwani Bhagat of Los Altos.

Santora has served on the Foothill-De Anza Foundation Board of Directors since 2010 and leads the foundation's Strategic Planning Committee. She is also chairing a new STEM speaker series that launches this fall through the Science Learning Institute at Foothill College featuring thought leaders in science, technology, math and engineering.

A community advocate for sustainability and education, Santora founded the Slow the Flow conference at Foothill College and championed installation of rainwater harvesting and catchment systems at the college for resource conservation. She also serves on the board of the Montalvo Arts Center and is a member of GreenTown Los Altos, through which she organizes the twice-yearly Recycle Bike Drive.

The Foothill-De Anza Foundation's Board of Directors provides oversight, guidance and support for the foundation. The foundation's mission is to change student lives by raising and investing funds to support the educational excellence of Foothill and De Anza colleges. Its goal for 2013-14 is raising at least .8 million.


Posted July 10, 2013