

Chancellor's Advisory Council Meeting Agenda – April 12, 2013

District Board Room 1:30-3:30 p.m.

(Note: Physical meeting cancelled, electronic vote conducted on BP 1100, 1200, 2010, 2100)

AGENDA TOPIC	PURPOSE	DISCUSSION LEADER
I. Policies	D/A	Linda
 BP 1100 The Foothill-De Anza Community College District (New) (Attachment 2) BP 1200 Mission of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District (Rev.) (Attachment 3) BP 2010 Board Membership (Rev.) (Attachment 4) BP 2100 Board Elections (New) (Attachment 5) 		
Distribution: Linda Thor, Karen Chow, Leo Contreras, Robert Cormia, Dolores Davison, Joseline Diaz/ASFC, Araceli Kaliangara, Rich Hansen, Truly Hunter, Reza Kazempour Kevin McElroy, Judy Miner, Blanche Monary, Joe Moreau, Brian Murphy, Leif Nelson, Dorene Novotny, Erin Ortiz, George Robles, Rowena Tomaneng, Pablo Zamorano/DASB		

DRAFT – NEW (LEGALLY REQUIRED)

The Foothill-De Anza Community College District

1100

The District name is the Foothill-De Anza Community College District.

The name is the property of the District. No person shall, without the permission of the Board, use this name or the names of any colleges or other facilities of the District, or any abbreviation of them, to imply, indicate or otherwise suggest that an organization, product or service is connected or affiliated with, or is endorsed, favored, supported, or opposed by, the District.

The District consists of the following colleges and education center:

<u>Foothill College</u> <u>De Anza College</u> <u>Foothill College Middlefield Center</u>

> Education Code Section 72000(b) Elections Code Section 18304 Approved

DRAFT – REVISED (Required by Accreditation Standard I)

Mission of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District <u>1200</u> 1000

The mission of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District is student success. We accomplish this by providing access to a dynamic learning environment that fosters excellence, opportunity and innovation in meeting the diverse educational and career goals of our students and communities.

The mission is evaluated and revised on a regular basis.

Accreditation Standard I

Approved 7/12/04 Amended 8/3/09,

DRAFT – REVISED (LEGALLY REQUIRED)

Board Membership Number of Elected Trustees and Term of Office 2010 9110

The Board will be composed of five trustees elected <u>by the qualified voters of the</u> <u>district</u> at large. The term of each trustee will be four years. The terms will be staggered so that, as nearly as practical, one-half of the trustees will be elected in each even-numbered year. (Note: Moved to BP 2100 Board Elections)

Any person who meets the criteria contained in law is eligible to be elected or appointed a member of the Board.

An employee of the District may not be sworn into office as an elected or appointed member of the governing board unless he or she resigns as an employee.

<u>No member of the Governing Board shall, during the term for which he or she is</u> <u>elected, hold an incompatible office.</u>

Education Code Section 72023, 72103, and 72104

Approved 3/2/64 Revised 5/3/82, 2/7/11, _____

DRAFT – NEW (LEGALLY REQUIRED)

Board Elections

2100

{Note: Moved from current BP 9110. New language underlined and in bold.) The term of each trustee will be four years, **commencing on the date of the first Board meeting in December following certification of the election results**. Terms of trustees will be staggered so that, as nearly as practical, one half of the trustees shall be elected at each even numbered year.

Education Code Sections 5000 et seq. and 72036

Approved _____